• USF Bulls fans join us at The Bulls Pen

It's simple, free and connects you to other South Florida Bulls fans!

• Members do not see this ad, Register

NYT: The Master's as a new Bachelor's

tau.reanb

• Group:  Member
  • Topic Count:  0
  • Content Count:  809
  • Days Won:  1

Just thought people would want to know, but USF was cited in a recent article by the New York Times about the growing abundance of Master's degree programs.  Specifically, it cites our Master's program in History.  Good read all around though.

http://www.nytimes.com/2011/07/24/education/edlife/edl-24masters-t.html?_r=1&ref=us&src=me&pagewanted=all

• Content Count:  3,802
  • Days Won:  3

Pretty good article. I got my Masters for this reason, the Bachelors isn't enough to easily get into an advanced - or overpopulated - field. I got a lot of "You have a Masters and you're how old? [23 at the time]" during interviews. It definitely gave me a leg up.

I'm not so sure why this article talks so much about a History major. History majors in particular are often laughed at, for better or worse, so it's not surprising to hear the entry level is getting higher, nor is it surprising that it's underpaid.

• Content Count:  24,750
  • Days Won:  87

Pretty good article. I got my Masters for this reason, the Bachelors isn't enough to easily get into an advanced - or overpopulated - field. I got a lot of "You have a Masters and you're how old? [23 at the time]" during interviews. It definitely gave me a leg up.

I'm not so sure why this article talks so much about a History major. History majors in particular are often laughed at, for better or worse, so it's not surprising to hear the entry level is getting higher, nor is it surprising that it's underpaid.