• USF Bulls fans join us at The Bulls Pen

It's simple, free and connects you to other South Florida Bulls fans!

• Members do not see this ad, Register

Laptop Repairs

outrunner

• Group:  Member
  • Topic Count:  0
  • Content Count:  7,796
  • Days Won:  6

I just damaged my laptop. The body part that houses everything is fine, but I damaged the screen (85% functional). I was just wondering if anyone had some experience/advice on the matter.

Where could I go to get it fixed that is affordable, reliable, and safe?

Do I need a whole new system, or can they just replace the screen?

• Content Count:  3,307
  • Days Won:  1

The screen can be replaced on its own... but laptop repairs are incredibly expensive. It's one of the few products where it actually makes sense to buy the extended warranty from the store. One repair can cost about as much as the computer is worth.

• Group:  Admin
  • Content Count:  97,043
  • Days Won:  469

I'm no expert, but when a screen goes out, my company purchases new and destroys old. 

I had a $550 Compaq computer and the power would not come on right.  Took it to the Geek Squad at Best Buy.  After testing power cords, they said the minimum charge to ship it out, open it up and fix would be $400 and it was best to buy a new one.  It was only 1.5 years old.  Granted, they sell laptops, but I just got a new one and moved on.

• Content Count:  19,525
  • Days Won:  24

If it is just the screen, you can look for one on eBay and replace it yourself.  Screen replacement isn't usually very difficult.  You'll probably have to Google for the instructions.  Some power related problems can be fixed by a local tech guy with a soldering iron.  There are ads on eBay for people that will do this for $75 or so.