• USF Bulls fans join us at The Bulls Pen

It's simple, free and connects you to other South Florida Bulls fans!

• Members do not see this ad, Register

One More Suggestion for New Head Coach

• Group:  Member
  • Topic Count:  1
  • Content Count:  9
  • Days Won:  0

I'm a USF grad and this is my first time posting to these forums, but I have been a follower for awhile. I have a suggestion for a possible coaching candidate. I know we all know who John Pelphrey is. And I think he'd be a great hire. However, after following Dayton in the Tournament this year and doing some research, I think Tom Ostrom should be mentioned as at least a thought. He got started in Minnesota and worked his way up the Florida team to assistant coach. Then he followed Pelphrey from team to team before he landed at Dayton. I read this article yesterday and thought he might be the tenacious recruiter we need to start bringing some of the state of Florida's talent to USF. What are your opinions on this guy? Not enough experience? Ready for the chance? Here's a link to the article I read yesterday that got me thinking.

http://sportsillustrated.cnn.com/-college-basketball-mens-tournament/news/20140327/tommy-ostrom-dayton-south-regional/?xid=nl_siextra

• Upvote 1

• Topic Count:  64
  • Content Count:  4,663
  • Days Won:  21

First and foremost, thank you for posting! Always great to have bulls on the boards...regardless of how crazy this place can be sometimes.

I've read more than once that USF should be looking at this guy. And now since making the elite 8 their staff is heating up. I think many would feel that an assistant coach from a small school is below us.

I hope we are leaving no stone unturned in this search.

Edited by Hem

• Group:  Admin
  • Topic Count:  13,332
  • Content Count:  96,987
  • Days Won:  469

Welcome usfbulls22381.  Let me know if you need any help with any part of the forum.