• USF Bulls fans join us at The Bulls Pen

It's simple, free and connects you to other South Florida Bulls fans!

• Members do not see this ad, Register

Game Announcer Opinions

• Group:  TBP Subscriber III
  • Topic Count:  0
  • Content Count:  2,305
  • Days Won:  11

The past several years, we've had a different game announcer than from when I was a student 2001-2005. In my humble opinion, the current announcer is not nearly as good, and he's far worse than the majority of game announcers at other stadiums I've been to games in. Other stadiums' announcers really work to play to the home crowd; they encourage a lot of cheering, and they have a huge effect on things like crowd morale and the general atmosphere of spirit. I don't think this guy really understands how to do that, especially when it comes to varying his voice intonation to convey emotion.

I remember when the announcer would say things like "FIRST DOOOOOOWWWWWNNNN, BUULLLLLSSSS" and "Let's hear it for that Bulls DEEEEFFFFFEEENSSEE." He'd tell the crowd to get loud for the team, he'd fan the flame. Other schools' announcers actually start cheers for the whole stadium, at appropriate times. For the past several years, our guy hasn't done that. For example, this past game, he didn't know who Landi was when he saw #12. He missed a bunch of first down announcements to the crowd. He did little to encourage cheering, and certainly didn't start any cheers. He was more of a nonfactor, which kind of takes from the fun of the game. It reduces the fan atmosphere that we're all paying to be a part of.