• USF Bulls fans join us at The Bulls Pen

It's simple, free and connects you to other South Florida Bulls fans!

• Members do not see this ad, Register

O'Leary: Team should avoid practicing in afternoon

• Group:  Admin
  • Topic Count:  13,332
  • Content Count:  97,018
  • Days Won:  469

small_logo.gif

Morning right time for UCF

O'Leary decides team should avoid practicing in afternoon

By Alan Schmadtke

Sentinel Staff Writer

May 6, 2005

A UCF football team looking to change its game-day fortunes will alter dramatically when it practices in the days before kickoff.

The Golden Knights are going to be morning people.

UCF Coach George O'Leary told players to schedule afternoon classes for the fall semester and to prepare for mandatory breakfasts and 9 a.m. practices.

"I'm not sure why, but we practice better, more consistent, when we go in the mornings," O'Leary said. "I've never done this before, so we'll see. But I think it'll work out."

Less than a handful of Division I-A programs like rising with the sun. According to a survey of conference sports information directors, UCF will join Kentucky, Hawaii, San Jose State and San Diego State as schools with pre-lunch practices. Kentucky Coach Rich Brooks made the change following the Wildcats' recently completed spring drills, school spokesman Tony Neely said.

"I'm thrilled," said Kristy Belden, UCF's football academic adviser. "Consistency is the key. We'll have morning practices throughout the year, which means we can keep the same schedule for study halls."

She said more flexibility for classes should be available to players in the fall than before. Afternoon practices mean an 8 a.m.-to-1 p.m. class window. Morning practices give a window between 1 and 10 p.m.