• USF Bulls fans join us at The Bulls Pen

It's simple, free and connects you to other South Florida Bulls fans!

• Members do not see this ad, Register

Looking for suggestions/tips on buying motorcycle

Griggsy

• Group:  Member
  • Topic Count:  0
  • Content Count:  808
  • Days Won:  0

The Yukon is killing me on gas...and I'm hearing rumors we may be up to $4/gallon by the time summer gets here. I've wanted a bike for awhile for 'fun' purposes, but now it's getting to the point that I can actually justify the purchase from a finance standpoint.

The drawback is that - beyond my childhood days on a YZ125 - I have no experience with bikes. I don't know what's good/what's bad/what to look for/which brands I should stay away from, etc.

I think I want a cruiser, but I don't want to pay Harley prices. My price range maxes at about $6k.  Honda seems like a safe bet.  I'm currently looking at something like this: http://tampa.craigslist.org/mcy/599383924.html

01010601150401161320080308a5a6866149949e82690047ed.jpg

A coworker mentioned I look for shaft drive vs. chain or belt. It's these sort of tips I'm looking for.

Also, Im a big guy -- 6'2" 280...so keep that in mind.

Any help appreciated. Many thanks

• Content Count:  19,229
  • Days Won:  1

My suggestion... get a motorcycle/coffin combo deal.

J/k (i hope).

I don't like motorcycles at all... too many bad drivers on the road.  You might be the best motorcycle driver in the world, but all it takes is one bad move by someone in a car and you are toast. 

But on that same note... I fully respect the decision to drive one... I just wouldn't do it myself.

• Content Count:  808

Believe me ... I share your concerns. I'm hoping that my driving primarily on the Crosstown during off-peak hours and wearing nothing short of chain-mail armor will make it a little less dangerous. But you're right, there's only so much I can do to make myself safe.