• USF Bulls fans join us at The Bulls Pen

It's simple, free and connects you to other South Florida Bulls fans!

• Members do not see this ad, Register

Times: Former USF Bull Jason Pierre-Paul thrives in second year in NFL

• Group:  Member
  • Topic Count:  0
  • Content Count:  2,277
  • Days Won:  0

November 12, 2011

Former USF Bull Jason Pierre-Paul thrives in second year in NFL

By Greg Auman, Times Staff Writer

Former USF star Jason Pierre-Paul has adjusted to life in the NFL, piling up the sacks for the Giants.

EAST RUTHERFORD, N.J. - Jason Pierre-Paul isn't sure he expected this much of a breakout performance in his second season with the Giants, simply because the former USF defensive end has never had a second season anywhere during his football career.

"This is my first time being in the same locker room two years in a row," said Pierre-Paul, who played just one season at USF and at two junior colleges after picking up the sport as a senior in high school.

"I'm very excited not to have to switch out, to learn the ins and outs again, learn everything, the new plays."

Pierre-Paul is a big part of why the Giants are 6-2 and leading the NFC East entering today's game against the 49ers, having piled up 9½ sacks (second most in the league) and played well enough to be mentioned on midseason All-Pro lists.

A year ago, he had zero sacks in his first 10 games. But as the game around him slowed down, his progress sped up.

"Experience has helped him tremendously," Giants coach Tom Coughlin said. "A year ago, everything was first time. It's not the first time anymore. We've got more to go, but I think he's doing well."

Teammates who developed over four or five years of major-college football give him grief for his short college tenure. But as he builds experience as a pro, the 22-year-old is learning and enjoying the kind of swift transformation many players only see as a college upperclassman.