• USF Bulls fans join us at The Bulls Pen

It's simple, free and connects you to other South Florida Bulls fans!

• Members do not see this ad, Register

FSWA Florida Coaches Media Days

• Group:  Admin
  • Topic Count:  0
  • Content Count:  97,043
  • Days Won:  469

naplesnews.com

FSWA College Coaches Media Days: Local player capsules from state schools

By Scott Hotard contact, Dana Oppedisano contact

Saturday, July 28, 2007

TAMPA — Capsules of local football players at state schools whose coaches spoke on Saturday:

CENTRAL FLORIDA

Cory Hogue, Naples -- A middle linebacker by trade, Hogue will start at one of the outside positions again this year. He has made 14 starts in his two years on campus.

Ereck Plancher, Lely -- Plancher, a relative of South Florida running back Moise Plancher, rushed for 698 yards last season at Lely. He enrolled at UCF in January, so he will have a head-start on his freshman classmates.

Mike Buxton, Estero -- The 6-foot-8, 317-pounder is looking to get on the field this year after redshirting last season. Has an experienced batch of offensive linemen in front of him.

FLORIDA

Wondy Pierre-Louis, Lely -- Pierre-Louis made an instant impact at Florida on special teams, where he won a spot as a gunner on the punt team. Made seven tackles. His role should increase this season, as he is expected to battle for a starting spot in a young secondary.

FLORIDA INTERNATIONAL

Joe Alajaijian, Naples -- The 6-3, 285-pound workhorse started seven games last year at the guard positions. A favorite of coach Mario Cristobal, who said he gravitates to him.

Tyler Clawson, Gulf Coast -- Got playing time in 11 games last year as a reserve linebacker and on special teams. Finished with 12 tackles.

MIAMI

Javarris James, Immokalee -- Edgerin's cousin carried 175 times for 802 yards as a true freshman, starting 10 games. He also had 17 catches for 200 yards.