• USF Bulls fans join us at The Bulls Pen

It's simple, free and connects you to other South Florida Bulls fans!

• Members do not see this ad, Register

Tampa Bay Area Top Talent

• Group:  TBP Subscriber III
  • Topic Count:  4,751
  • Content Count:  37,675
  • Days Won:  29

Tampa Bay top talents

By Times Staff

Published August 31, 2004

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

R.J.

SCHOOL: Citrus

POSITION/SIZE.: Running back/Cornerback, 5-9, 170

PAST PERFORMANCE: The shifty and speedy three-year starter is an elusive ball carrier with more than 2,000 career rushing yards. He's equally dangerous when he catches the ball and is a a talented defensive back, especially in man-to-man coverage.

ACADEMICS: 3.3 GPA

OTHER SPORT: Basketball.

FAVORITE COLLEGE: Florida State.

COACH'S COMMENT: "R.J. has all the skills to be a great football player." - Rik Haines

IN HIS OWN WORDS: "I'm a student of the game. I love football so much. I think you're going to see a lot more power from me this season. I used to try to run around people, but now I'd like to go over them more."

HARRISON BECK

SCHOOL: Countryside.

POSITION/SIZE: Quarterback, 6-2, 205

PAST PERFORMANCE: The right-hander threw a school-record 2,271 yards and 21 touchdowns last season to lead the Cougars to a berth in the region final against Class 4A state champion Armwood.

ACADEMICS: 3.4 GPA, 920 SAT

COLLEGE COMMITMENT: Nebraska

COACH'S COMMENT: "Harrison is the kind of guy that wants the ball in his hands. He's got a real competitive drive. That's what you want to see out of your quarterback." - John Davis.

IN HIS OWN WORDS: "We have some great receivers and are going to have a lot of options. It's going to be fun."

ALEX SUBER

SCHOOL: Jefferson

POSITION/SIZE: Running, back, 5-7, 160