Jump to content
  • Join us at The Bulls Pen

    It's simple, free and connects you to other Bulls fans!


Recommended Posts



April 28, 2016 


USF Senior Writer

TAMPA, APRIL 28, 2016 – USF’s Chase Koepka and Aksel Olsen have been announced as semifinalists for the 2016 Division I Jack Nicklaus National Player of the Year Award.

Finalists for the prestigious award will be named May 25 and award recipients will be announced June 2. The awards will be presented by Nicklaus at a ceremony during the final round of the Memorial Tournament at Muirfield Village Golf Club in Dublin, Ohio.


In addition to their awards, the five recipients get to compete in the Barbasol Shootout for an exemption into the PGA Tour’s Barbasol Championship July 14-17 at the Robert Trent Jones Golf Trail at Grand National in Opelika, Ala. The Barbasol Shootout takes place Saturday, June 4 at Scioto Country Club in Columbus, Ohio, where Nicklaus learned to play golf.

Koepka leads the Bulls with a 71.0 scoring average and four top-10 finishes, including three in his past four events. The senior from West Palm Beach is ranked No. 18 nationally by Golfweek and has six top-25 finishes in eight tournaments this season. Koepka captured the fourth tournament title of his career at the Mission Inn Spring Spectacular on March 13.

Olsen leads the Bulls with eight top-25 finishes, four top-10 performances and ranks second on the team with a 71.2 scoring average in 27 rounds. The senior from Stavanger, Norway is ranked No. 30 by Golfweek and posted the first win of his career at the Querencia Cabo Collegiate on March 1. Olsen has placed in the top 25 in eight of nine outings this season.

No. 13/15 USF looks to defend its title at the American Athletic Conference Championship that takes place Sunday through Tuesday, May 3 in Lecanto, Fla.

Division I Jack Nicklaus Award National Player of the Year Award presented by Barbasol Semifinalists

Derek Bard, Virginia
Charlie Danielson, Illinois
Thomas Detry, Illinois
Doug Ghim, Texas
Will Gordon, Vanderbilt
Gavin Hall, Texas
Rico Hoey, Southern California
Sam Horsfield, Florida
Beau Hossler, Texas
Austin James, Charleston Southern
Michael Johnson, Auburn
Chase Koepka, USF
Hank Lebioda, Florida State
KK Limbhasut, California
Lee McCoy, Georgia
Maverick McNealy, Stanford
Nahum Mendoza III, San Diego State
Adrian Meronk, East Tennessee State
Matt NeSmith, South Carolina
Aksel Olsen, USF
Corey Pereira, Washington
Jon Rahm, Arizona State
Matthias Schwab, Vanderbilt
Robin Sciot-Siegrist, Louisville
Robby Shelton, Alabama
Greyson Sigg, Georgia
Lars van Meijel, Memphis
Aaron Wise, Oregon
Zach Wright, LSU
Will Zalatoris, Wake Forest

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Members do not see this ad, Register
1 hour ago, Bull Daly said:

Would follow the PGA more if we ever have a Bull turn pro. Maybe next year?

Well, we had one player on the PGA tour last year, Oscar Fraustro, but he is back on the Web.Com tour.


  • Oscar Fraustro

    • 6  ft, 0  in

      165 lbs

    • 06/14/1982

      University of South Florida

    • 2006

      Mexico City, Mexico

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


  • Create New...

It appears you are using ad blocking tools.  This site is supported through ads.  Please disable in order to enjoy full access to The Bulls Pen.