• USF Bulls fans join us at The Bulls Pen

It's simple, free and connects you to other South Florida Bulls fans!

• Members do not see this ad, Register

Take A Selfie At USF Graduation, Lose Your Degree

• Group:  Member
  • Topic Count:  553
  • Content Count:  14,405
  • Days Won:  13

Made the national NBC News app! No dancing, selfies, ect at graduation or they will hold your degree. Draconian. I opened the app, didn't know what school and as soon as I saw WFLA my stomach sank.

http://www.nbcnews.com/video/nbc-news/55028220#55028220

Edited by slick1ru2

• Topic Count:  176
  • Content Count:  4,642
  • Days Won:  0

wtf

• Topic Count:  303
  • Content Count:  5,550
  • Days Won:  21

I actually support this

When I graduated 2 years ago, the amount of rudeness on the stage due to students holding up the line was very annoying.

I know graduation is a celebration, however the actual stage walk is supposed to be the "formal" portion of it.  This is the time you are getting the degree and shaking hands with the president, and other important figures of the university.  There is PLENTY of time to celebrate before and after.

Now I can understand doing a "happy dance" or taking a QUICK photo(s) while walking.  I saw some students do this, and i thought it was fine.

But some were holding up the line doing a complete dance, march, or just stopping and taking multiple pictures which is rude to the other students, particularly those behind them.

The announcers are reading the names at a quick rate do to the sheer size of the class, so then the next student doesn't have the time/recognition now since their name has already been read and/or has to quickly go across the stage to "catch up."

There is a time and place for everything.

/End of rant

--

Also, other universities and colleges are taking similar matters. I wouldn't be surprised if this becomes the standard among most institutions.

• Upvote 2

• Topic Count:  129
  • Content Count:  3,112
  • Days Won:  7