Jump to content
What's New
  • USF Bulls fans join us at The Bulls Pen

    It's simple, free and connects you to other South Florida Bulls fans!

Anyone up for a AP voter - email campaign?


Sunil

Recommended Posts


  • Group:  Member
  • Topic Count:  0
  • Content Count:  1,260
  • Reputation:   0
  • Days Won:  0
  • Joined:  09/20/2006

Not sure if anyone is up for it...but here is a list of all the AP voters and email addresses, keep for reference. Had to go to a few sites to compile, so it's a bit incomplete, but knock yourselves out... I don't believe ap.org has posted this week's individual voter ballots yet, but we'll know the culprits who sent in their ballots early soon enough. When that individual ballots are posted, maybe someone can post the auburn/usf rankings for each....

;D

Adan Van Brimmer, Savannah Morning News adam.vanbrimmer@morris.com

Aditi Kinkhabwala, The Bergen Record

Alex Abrams, The Morning News of Northwest Arkansas aabrams@nwaonline.net

Austin Ward, Casper Star-Tribune austin.ward@casperstartribune.net

B.G. Brooks, Rocky Mountain News brooksb@RockyMountainNews.com

Barker Davis, The Washington Times

Bret Bloomquist, El Paso Times bbloomquist@elpasotimes.com

Brian Landman, St. Petersburg Times landman@sptimes.com

Chip Cosby, Lexington Herald-Leader ccosby@herald-leader.com

Chip Scoggins, Minneapolis Star Tribune ascoggins@startribune.com

Chris Fowler, ESPN

Chuck Banning, The Day of New London parnett@starbulletin.com

Craig James, ABC

Dave Goren, WXII-TV dgoren@hearst.com

Dave Morrison, The Register-Herald demorrison@register-herald.com

David Birkett, The Oakland Press dave.birkett@oakpress.com

David Jones, Florida Today djones@floridatoday.com

Doug Doughty, Roanoke Times doug.doughty@roanoke.com

Doug Lesmerises, Cleveland Plain Dealer dlesmerises@plaind.com

Eric Hansen, South Bend Tribune ehansen@sbtinfo.com

Eric Yutzy, WTVF-TV sports@newschannel5.com

Glen Guilbeau, Gannett Louisiana News Service

Herb Gould, Chicago Sun-Times hgould@suntimes.com

Israel Gutierrez, Miami Herald igutierrez@herald.com

Jason Franchuk, Provo Daily Herald jfranchuk@heraldextra.com

Jay G. Tate, Montgomery Advertiser jgtate@gannet.com

Jim Young, Greensboro News & Record jyoung@news-record.com

Jimmy Burch, Fort Worth Star-Telegram jburch@star-telegram.com

Joe Giglio, The News & Observer jgiglio@newsobserver.com

Joe Person, The State jperson@thestate.com

John Heuser, Ann Arbor News jheuser@annarbornews.com

John Hunt, The Oregonian johnhunt@news.oregonian.com

John Moredich, Tucson Citizen jmoredich@tucsoncitizen.com

Jon Wilner, San Jose Mercury News jwilner@mercurynews.com

Joseph Duarte, Houston Chronicle joseph.duarte@chron.com

Joseph Hawk, Las Vegas Review-Journal JHawk@reviewjournal.com

Kevin Pearson, Riverside Press-Enterprise kpearson@PE.com

Kirk Bohls, Austin American Statesman kbohls@statesman.com

Kirk Herbstreit, WBNS-AM/ESPN

Mark Tupper, Decatur Herald & Review mtupper@herald-review.com

Matt McCoy, WTVN-AM

Mike DeArmond, Kansas City Star mdearmond@kcstar.com

Mike Prater, Idaho Statesman mprater@boise.gannett.com

Mike Strain, Tulsa World mike.strain@tulsaworld.com

Molly Yanity, Seattle Post-Intelligencer mollyyanity@seattlepi.com

Myron Patton, KOKH-TV mpatton@okcfox.com

Neal McCready, Mobile Press-Register nmccready@press-register.com

Parrish Alford, Northeast Mississippi Daily Journal djrebels@livejournal.com

Paul Arnett, Honolulu Star-Bulletin

Pete DiPrimio, Fort Wayne News-Sentinel pdiprimio@news-sentinel.com

Ray Fittipaldo, Pittsburgh Post-Gazette rfittipaldo@post-gazette.com

Ray Ratto, San Francisco Chronicle rratto@sfchronicle.com

Rich Kaipust, Omaha World-Herald rich.kaipust@owh.com

Rodney McKissic, Buffalo News rmckissic@buffnews.com

Scott Rabalais, The Baton Rouge Advocate srabalais@theadvocate.com

Scott Wolf, Los Angeles Daily News scott.wolf@dailynews.com

Shannon Ryan, Philadelphia Inquirer sryan@phillynews.com

Steve Batterson, Quad City Times sbatterson@qctimes.com

Steve Conroy, Boston Herald sconroy@bostonherald.com

Stewart Mandel, SI.com

Tom Hart, College Sports Televison writerfeedback@cstv.com

Tom Keegan, Lawrence Journal World

Tom Mulhern, Wisconsin State Journal tmulhern@madison.com

Tommy Trujillo, Santa Fe New Mexican ttrujillo@sfnewmexican.com

Wayne Phillips, Greeneville Sun sunsports@xtn.net

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • Replies 42
  • Created
  • Last Reply

  • Group:  Member
  • Topic Count:  0
  • Content Count:  12,291
  • Reputation:   63
  • Days Won:  0
  • Joined:  10/01/2003

i think they are catching enough heat from the national media outlets.  emailing might make them annoyed.  i say we are in after the north carolina win..if we arent then take the drastic measures.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


  • Group:  Member
  • Topic Count:  0
  • Content Count:  291
  • Reputation:   0
  • Days Won:  0
  • Joined:  08/29/2007

haha, i had this idea the other night. I said at the dinner table, us the fans and non watchers of Bulls football that think we should be in the top 25 should pull an Al Gore and demand a recount and let our voices be heard on the national level.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


  • Group:  Member
  • Topic Count:  0
  • Content Count:  5,903
  • Reputation:   10
  • Days Won:  1
  • Joined:  09/09/2006

Seeing how everyone voted I see:

A) 1 guy from Alabama has us ranked and the other guy has Auburn ranked.

B) Arizona guy still has Auburn ranked

C) Arkansas guy still has Auburn ranked

D) 2 guys from CA have Auburn ranked, the other two have neither of us ranked

E) CO has both of us ranked

F) Conn. has only Auburn ranked

G) The guys from FL are no help at all

H) HI still has Auburn ranked...

Clearly you can see where this is going... DO THESE PEOPLE ACTUALLY WATCH THE GAMES? What the hell?!

LINK: http://hosted.ap.org/dynamic/files/specials/collegefootball_front/votes/voters.html?SITE=AP&SECTION=HOME

Link to comment
Share on other sites


  • Group:  TBP Subscriber III
  • Topic Count:  0
  • Content Count:  4,443
  • Reputation:   755
  • Days Won:  10
  • Joined:  09/18/2005

If you e-mail them, use small words.  They don't seem to be the sharpest knives in the drawer...

Link to comment
Share on other sites


  • Group:  Member
  • Topic Count:  0
  • Content Count:  1,981
  • Reputation:   0
  • Days Won:  0
  • Joined:  12/02/2002

Well, those are the most updated.

They are still wrong. Let's wait and see how the voters voted this week before we start sending emails. I almost sent an email to one of them till I realized that the voter had Auburn at #12 so I figured correctly that it was last week's poll. Btw that voter indeed voted for USF this week, so good thing I didn't make an ass out of myself.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


  • Group:  Member
  • Topic Count:  0
  • Content Count:  6,410
  • Reputation:   672
  • Days Won:  6
  • Joined:  07/10/2003

I wouldn't worry about the AP voters.  They are actually considering their vote before submitting their ballot even though it is filled with their own biases.  But it doesn't mean anything anymore.  Once they backed out of the BCS, they are now insignificant.

If you're going to have an email campaign, I would have it aimed at the coaches (who wouldn't open their email).  So probably a campaign to the BCS telling them the Coaches poll is currently a joke as most of them never see more than 1 or 2 games a week.  How can they possibly be experts who are supposed to evaluate 119 teams every week and then cast their ballot?  Late Saturday night and early Sunday morning, they are only evaluating their team, yesterday's opponent and next week's opponent.  Unfortunately they are a given as 1/3 of the BCS rankings.  The Harris poll (also 1/3 of the BCS) is much, much more deserving as true evaluators of the sport.  I wish the AP would come back into the fold.  Make the 6 computer rankings 1/2 of the BCS, AP 1/6, Coaches 1/6 and Harris 1/6.  It would make much more sense.

By the way, we are doing really well so far in the BCS computer rankings - currently #10!

http://www.tellshowbcs.com/CP.html

Link to comment
Share on other sites


  • Group:  Member
  • Topic Count:  0
  • Content Count:  5,903
  • Reputation:   10
  • Days Won:  1
  • Joined:  09/09/2006

Except two polls aren't' reporting and the highest and lowest votes are dropped... so, we've only got two votes to really look at.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

×
×
  • Create New...